I’m fine being single – until I’m not.

January 1st, 2012

Can I please be happy being single?

I want to be a wise old woman whom people are drawn to for her wisdom and gardens (even though I don’t like to garden).  A wise old woman who putters about, sings a bit, and paints sunsets or weasels or marvelous toys.

How do I stop longing for a significant other?  Is there an immunization for this desire?

How do I pull my alone act together?  I go through a couple of days okay – then –

WHAM   !   sad sad sad        How do I be me – alone?

God/Universe, half the time I don’t know what I’m writing about I am so full of b.s.

5 comments on “I’m fine being single – until I’m not.

  1. Shelly Doyle says:

    Mary These are very cool drawings and mind stories. Reminds me of Maira Kalman . Keep up the good work and continue searching.

  2. Ross says:

    “Men. You can’t live with them, and you can’t live without them.”
    No wait, it’s “Women. You can’t live with them, and you can’t live without them.”
    Mars and Venus? Different planets?

    Recently found a poem by Rilke:

    Once the realization is accepted that even
    between the closest human beings infinite distances
    continue, a wonderful living side by side can grow,
    if they succeed in loving the distance between them
    which makes it possible for each to see the other
    whole against the sky.

    How long does it take to be able to see another whole against the sky?
    not part against the sky
    How long does it take to see “whole”?

Leave a Reply

