Dating Strangenesses #1

I got divorced about 10 years ago and have been dating on and off for 9 years.  Over the next few months I’ll occasionally introduce you to some of the doozies.  They are all true stories.

I affectionately call this guy My Vampire Spotter.

Our first (and only) date, flowers, a Porsche. During an expensive dinner out, he nonchalantly tells me that he sees Vampires on every corner – he was very clear that he was speaking literally.  The Vampires had red glowing eyes. I stayed through the meal; I shouldn’t have.  Still, nothing happened.  I got home safe.

I remember the music he played in his car, devoid of feeling, techno. I remember the rip in the leather passenger’s seat in his car. I don’t remember his face.  It was only later that I realized the goofball got it wrong.  Vampires don’t wait on street corners. Those are boogey men, aren’t they? Vampires wait in coffins, don’t they?

4 comments on “Dating Strangenesses #1

  1. What a beautiful painting, though. The date must have been worth it somewhat to produce such an interesting piece of work.

  2. perhaps it was – and thank you. this painting turned out exactly how I imagined his vampire or boogey man looked, i’ve had this image in my head for something like 8 years. now it’s out and loose on the web…

  3. Mary…your non-fiction stories are the best! You can’t make this stuff up…xoxoxo

Leave a Reply

