Year of Mindfulness Day #1: The Sweet Release of Giving In

This day begins

My Year of Mindfulness…

Fought the lake weeds for the past 5 years…

…until I realized, heck, let the dang things grow.

Give in!

Maybe I’ll end up with water lilies, like my neighbor:

and Monet will come for tea.

If not, at least the battle is over.

It began with lakeweeds. I’d been engaged in battle with them for the past 5 years, since I’d moved to this sparkling lake haven. Pulled the weeds by hand, used a lakeweed “mower,” used a lakeweed cutter, poured chemicals into the water to kill them. This is the day when I sat on my dock in the morning, as usual, when it came to me. I could simply accept them. I could even welcome them. And thus began my year of mindfulness. My year of accepting what-is. My year of seeing what-is. My year of being okay with the changeable always-growing creature that I am. The glory of my me-ness.

7 comments on “Year of Mindfulness Day #1: The Sweet Release of Giving In

  1. katytaylor says:

    sweet! i try to garden that way, too, letting things grow where they want to as much as i can…let us know how it goes!

  2. thanks, katy! honestly, the tools i’ve bought to kill those weeds, and all the while i could’ve been just enjoying them! my plan is to buy a cool raft – if i keep it out a little deeper there is clear swimming. so me and my visitors can row or swim through weeds to get out to the raft. it’s a plan. i’d love to see your every-which-way garden!!!!

  3. muddlavoie says:

    “and Monet will come for tea.” = LOVE LOVE LOVE. it made me sigh a sigh of enchantment. merci ma belle amie 🙂

Leave a Reply

