Lurching About

Yesterday I lurched about, creatively.  My “creativity slave driver” buzzed around me all day…

First thing in the morning, went next door to my dear friend’s house to have tea, both of us still in jammies. It was delightful!  Creativity slave driver: Tsk tsk you didn’t write in your journal.

Went home to clean the house just a bit.  Creativity slave driver: Hurry! You need to start typing up those poems!

Made soap.  This has been an ongoing project. It turns out that to make soap you have to melt soap! This made me laugh!   In my case the creative part is this: I had muddled mint (with a mortar and pestle) from my property and slow-cooked it in oil to create a kind of “essence of mint.”  So I yesterday I put it all together and made mint soap.  I’m making the soap to give as gifts at Christmas/Hanukah. Creativity slave driver: You are spending too much energy and time doing a tame task, not creative enough!

One of my dear daughters called. She was baby sitting a 4-year-old.  She had been telling this young girl about her mom (me!) who used to sing and perform children’s music.  She asked me to sing to the 4-year-old!  I loved it!  Creativity slave driver: Go back to children’s music! You could make a lot of money! You are so good at it!

Saw a client. I’m an art therapist and I see a few clients each week.  “Creativity slave driver” was okay with that, no scolding.  I like being thoroughly present during sessions; being as attentive as I can be.

A hurried dinner and then I went to my jazz vocal ensemble rehearsal.  Creativity slave driver: You should sing just jazz! Practice jazz theory more! Put together an act and perform, become a jazz singer! 

Visited a wonderful friend after rehearsal. We talked about how we lurch about creatively! He has the same “Do this! Do that!” voice in his head!

Went back next door in my jammies for a late night cup of tea. Delightful! Creativity slave driver: You promised to start typing up those poems. Are you going to start tonight?

Got home a little before midnight. Got an email with a song attached that I might like to sing.  It’s a great song about  Spider Lake and Traverse City!  It got me happily excited, and then my creativity slave driver:  Do it! Put your local songs together, package them up and sell them next summer! You could make a fortune selling songs about Traverse City to Traverse City vacationers!

Got ready for bed, etc.  That dang creativity slave driver was still trying to get me to type out at least one poem!

I over ruled.

 

4 comments on “Lurching About

  1. katytaylor says:

    loved how you followed your creativity essence every step of the way! tell that creativity slave-driver to take a hike and let your heart conitinue to lead you instead!

    • Mary MacGowan says:

      did i? in a way i feel like i allowed that slave driver to keep yapping at me and thus failed. huh, there i am, trying to be perfect all the time! but you have a great point that i kept following my instincts rather than the words of my inner slave driver. it’s confusing tho. what if the slave driver is right???

  2. redmitten says:

    i had those what if voices in my head for a few decades. the ones that said everything should match the thumb-man’s couch. and then one day i couldn’t take it anymore. but for some years after that i would doubt …but often when i would doubt came the words from poets such as you and i would find the whatwithal to not listen to those sorts of voices. but yes i know that slave driver’s voice. so you hear it, but you also drink tea in your jammies and sing songs over the telephone wires. good for you, it’s good for me, too.

Leave a Reply

