The Three Difficulties

In my words, as remembered from Pema Chodron: May I practice The Three Difficulties. May I see what I do. When it happens, may I do something different. And may this be a way of life for me. We say this in the mornings, and then in the evenings, as we get ready to sleep, we review the day with compassion. The elusive “When it happens. . .” My interpretation is that when you act and feel neurotic, when you have difficult feelings, when you have the urge to act in an unhealthy way, try something different. It works. It really works. So elegantly simple. I recommend using it this holiday weekend. Families can bring out the best and the worst in us! Let yourself try something different this time and may your Thanksgiving be Happy!

Leave a Reply

