Mary’s Song

This song’s title is from a poem with the same title by Marion Angus, a Scottish poet popular at the turn of the century. I decided to “Americanize” her words because she used a lot of Gaelic and it didn’t feel right for me. Youtube gave me the option to create this old-fashioned look, sepias and faded, lovin’ it.

8 comments on “Mary’s Song

  1. katytaylor says:

    very pretty, mary, but a little too soft! would love to hear your voice more clearly!

    • hello my dear friend, yes, it is too soft. i’m awaiting new equipment, this was the best i could do for now. tell you what. i’ll record it again later. i’ll be recording all of these again!

  2. My neighbor in heaven, promise you’ll sing to me from adjacent window where heavenly breezes take me away into your magic? What a beautiful song! You’re terribly talented! I want these recording Mary! I’ve a request ~ could you write a little lullaby for my friend’s 1st child, it’ll be a girl, Mila Angelina… I’d pay you. Consider it, please ~ Lovingly Debbie

  3. Debbie, I’d be honored.
    And thank you for loving this song!
    Mila Angelina – please tell me how that lovely name is pronounced. Is there a rhyme there? Meela Angeleena? Like that? What would you like the lullaby to say? I will happily do this – no charge, just for the love of it.
    mary

    • Are you serious Mary? Indeed! That’s exactly how it’s pronounced. I’d like it to say things such as heaven needed extra wings on earth, sent you for that breeze to be felt by your mommy and daddy; life was breathed into you by 3 loves, God, mommy, daddy… she’s been desired above all earthly riches, and angels from across the thin viel are her guardians till she returns to her heavenly parents. You’re better at this than me.
      My girlfriend was Scottish and spoke gaelic ~she sing me these type of songs– Tears are skimming my cheeks right now. Thank U heavenly neighbor !

      • i’m already working on it!

      • how’s this:

        mila angelina
        you came from up above
        mila angelina
        oh how you’re loved
        by mommy daddy and God.

        heaven needed extra wings here on the ground
        an angel was born, an angel was born, a breeze all around

        mila angelina
        you came from up above
        mila angelina
        oh how you’re loved
        by mommy daddy and God.

        you were desired above, above, all earthly pleasure
        angels shall guard you angles shall guard you, for you are a sweet treasure

        mila angelina
        you came from up above
        mila angelina
        oh how you’re loved
        by mommy daddy and God.

      • Ohhh my! Mary! Perfection ! I am humbled to the depth! I can’t help but weep. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! HUGS~Debbie

Leave a Reply

